Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe | Follow us on Facebook!
Chisago County Press | Lindstrom, MN
• Home

All Ways Automotive
5 loaves
face it
free roof
Rich Wood Garage Doors
Festival Theatre
Recycled wardrobes
Chisago Lakes Schools

North Branch Schools

home : schools : schools May 2, 2016

11/29/2012 9:26:00 AM
2012 TIES Technology Leadership honors go to North Branch Schools' -- awards banquet is Dec. 9

The Technology Committee at North Branch Area Public Schools has been named the 2012 TIES Technology Leadership Team award winner. The Technology Committee was chosen for this prestigious award for its leadership in bringing technology to the classroom, its efforts to build community around technology in the classroom, both within the school district and the community, and for the wide variety of technologies and practices it encourages in the school district. "It is a great honor to be chosen to win this award," said Supt. Deb Henton. "It speaks not only to the efforts of the Technology Committee, but also to the entire staff, our students, our families, and our school board members, all of whom played significant roles in making technology use in our classrooms pervasive." Examples of the increased access to, and use of technology, include e-readers in Media Centers, the fifth grade "Transformer" pilot, and steady increase of devices in NBAPS schools like iPads, iPods, netbooks, Smartboards in Early childhood, the Discover Digital Devices initiative, and more. "We have made a concerted effort in the last few years to increase exposure to technology by our students so that their educational experience closer mirrors what they will experience in life. Because of state funding issues, we have had to be creative, and find resources where they are available. This award confirms that we have been effective and are heading down the right path," said Henton. The Technology Committee consists of Supt. Deb Henton, High School Asst. Principal Glen Stevens, Middle School Asst. Principal Kelly Detzler, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Alternative Learning Programs Lori Zimmerman, Director ot Technology Chip Treen, Director of Finance and Human Resources Randi Johnson, Community Relations Coordinator Patrick Tepoorten, Sunrise River School Principal Jason Hartmann, and Unique Learners Manager Sarah Brown. The Technology Committee will be honored at the TIES 2012 Technology conference awards dinner Sunday, Dec. 9, and again at the TIES 2012 Education Technology Conference.

Advanced Search

North Branch Schools

CHISAGO LAKES LIVING | Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe
Powered by 72dpi

Chisago County Press
P.O. Box 748 Lindstrom, MN 55045

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved