Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe | Follow us on Facebook!
Chisago County Press | Lindstrom, MN
• Home

Wagner Chiropractic
M & M Mortgage

WIld Mountain 12-8-13

home : news : news
March 20, 2019

11/8/2012 8:20:00 AM
Election returns for the county 2012

General election voting in Chisago County-- comparable to what happened across the state and even in national races--was quite closely divided between the two major parties. Few who came out ahead, with the exception of U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, are winners who are moving forward with any huge mandate. But the one thing that truly stands out from Tuesday locally, is the voter turnout in Chisago county’s 23 precincts. According to the early tabulations from the County Auditor’s office-- two precincts exceeded 100 percent turnout. Shafer Precinct B and Chisago Lake Township South had a couple more voters register and vote Tuesday than were registered at the start of the day. Chisago Lake South saw 1,548 votes cast-- all of those registered, plus. And, Shafer Precinct B had 25 registered and 26 voted for a 104 percent turnout. Following close behind were Chisago City and Center City with 98.9 percent turnout in each.

In county tallies even though Congressman Chip Cravaack conceded his election to Rick Nolan, Cravaack won in Chisago County by about 2,000 votes. Cravaack won all the precincts in Chisago County with the exception of Rush City, Taylors Falls, Center City and Shafer’s Precinct B and Precinct B in North Branch. The tally here was 15,033 to Nolan’s 13,223. The huge Eighth District, however, elected Nolan to go to Washington D.C. next year, ousting Cravaack after just one term. Chisago County easily supported Klobuchar’s re-election, going 16,758 for her over GOP challenger Kurt Bills, who got 10,371 votes in this county. There were three races for the County Board and all the incumbents were returned to office. Lora Walker got 2,960 and Darrel Trulson got 2,039. There were no precincts where Trulson got more votes than Commissioner Walker.

Mike Robinson also won all his precincts for re-election to the Board. Challenger Rick Smisson got 1,509 and Robinson got 3,489. George McMahon was returned with 3,648 votes and challenger Curt Flug received 1,722. Again, there were no precincts where McMahon came in second. Due to redistricting all five commissioners were on ballots for staggered terms-- Rick Greene and Ben Montzka were unopposed. In state races-- incumbent House Representative Bob Barrett moved after redistricting left his homestead in a newly-drawn district that encompasses Washington County and Forest Lake. Barrett won re-election over his DFL challenger Rick Olseen. Barrett had 10,644 to Olseen’s 10,251. In the northwest corner of Chisago County another newly-drawn district, 32A saw newcomers Paul Gammel, Brian Johnson and Paul Bergley running for the House. Johnson came out ahead taking all the precincts in Chisago County with the exception of Rush City, which went for Gammel. Johnson’s total in the county was 2,706 and Gammel had 2,545. Bergley had 173 votes. The district also went for Johnson as a whole. In newly-drawn House Dis. 39A Bob Dettmer, of Forest Lake, will retain a seat in the House, defeating John Bruno.

The county tally was Bruno 630 to Dettmer’s 758. In District 39 for state senate, Karin Housley, of the Stillwater area, appears to be the winner districtwide. In Chisago County, this new district has just three precincts: Franconia, part of the City of Shafer and Shafer Twsp. Housley got 743 votes and Julie Bunn got 677. State Senate Sean Nienow returns to represent Chisago County in Dsit. 32 in St. Paul. Republican Nienow got 13,992 here and won districtwide. Challenger Jeske Noordergraf got 12, 279 in Chisago County. There were two school board elections, one in North Branch and one in Chisago Lakes. Incumbents won in both.

The Chisago Lakes Board will see Lori Berg and Gerald Vitalis return, Berg got 4,142 and Vitalis 4,185. The third seat went to Brenda Carlson, with 3,827. Also running were Jim Green, 3,087, Cory Spencer 2, 040, Tim Lideen 1,709 and Steve Alm 1, 631. North Branch School Board Chair Kim Salo got 3,692 votes, and Linda Heidelberger 3,600 and Tim Gibbons got 2,305 to be seated. Also running in North Branch were Tim Macmillan, 2,263, Kevin Orf 1,845 and Robert Bernier with 1,841 votes. Chisago County bucked the state vote that ultimately defeated both Constitutional Amendments on the ballot. In Chisago County the “marriage” question was supported 16,815 to 12,459 as an amendment and the county also voted yes 16,614 to 12,652 no for the picture I.D. amendment. Local races: There could be a recount in North Branch in the mayoral race. Ron Lindquist got 2,219 and challenger Kirsten Kennedy got 2,159. Lindquist is now on the city council. Incumbent Amy Oehlers did not file.

The Press will have follow up if there’s a recount initiated. For Council in North Branch, incumbent Theresa Furman won with 1,889 votes and Joyce Borchardt also won with 2, 023. The next highest vote-getter was incumbent Joel McPherson with 1,430. Mic Dahlberg got 1,308. There’s also a new mayor in Rush City. Dan Dahlberg got 582 votes to Nancy Schroeder’s 329. Also running for council were Jamie Amundson 596 and Michael Louzek, 554. Wyoming had a race for mayor, and incumbent Eric Peterson came out ahead, with 2,554 votes to Ray Vinzant’s 1, 192. Also returned to council are Linda Nanko-Yeager with 1,800 and Joe Zerwas with 1,535 votes. Also running were Claire Luger, who got 1,166; Dennis Williams 847; Kriss Hakala 733 and Stuart Stevermer 225. Center City re-elected unopposed mayor Jill Behnke, and had a four-person race for the two council seats. Incumbent Mark Wolcott got the most votes with 214 and newcomer Scott Anderson won with 123 votes. Jon Alvin had 90 and incumbent Kristopher Jensen had 68 votes.

Chisago City incumbents won their council seats: Marie Rivers got 1,139 and Don Taylor got 1,328. Also running was Mark Anderson who got 992 votes. There wasn’t a mayoral race in this city. In Harris, Mayor Diane Miller was unopposed and got 463 votes. For council it was David Maack 314 and Douglas Payne 364. Shafer did not have a mayor seat on the ballot, and council incumbents Corey Sellman and Jesse Keeney were re-elected with 245 and 256 votes. Also running for one of the two council seats was Gunnar Crabtree, he got 145 votes. In Taylors Falls, Mike Buchite was unopposed for mayor and got 466 votes. Incumbents Larry Julik-Heine and John Tangen were also returned with 378 and 38 votes respectively. Zara Kivi-Kinnunen got 171 votes.

Advanced Search

WIld Mountain 12-8-13

CHISAGO LAKES LIVING | Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe
Powered by 72dpi

Chisago County Press
P.O. Box 748 Lindstrom, MN 55045

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved