Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe | Follow us on Facebook!
Chisago County Press | Lindstrom, MN
• Home

Wagner Chiropractic
M & M Mortgage

WIld Mountain 12-8-13

home : news : news
January 18, 2019

1/10/2019 4:43:00 PM
County Board names Greene as 2019 chair

Rick Greene was chosen unanimously as Chair of the County Board in 2019.The Board annual organizational meeting was Tuesday morning this week and Ben Montzka got the nod to serve as Vice Chair.

All elected officeholders took their oaths of office being sworn in by Tenth Judiclal District Court Judge Bollman. Family and friends enjoyed cake and refreshments for a few minutes and it was back to business.

Out-going Chair from 2018 George McMahon said he hopes the progressive momentum begun in 2018 continues and pointed out the large number of road projects set in motion and said the Board worked very well together.

The County Board meeting calendar stays the same at the first and third Wednesdays at 6:30 p.m.  

There is going to be a special workshop for the Board to tackle some procedural and big picture personnel items January 31 from 1:30 to 4:30 at the Board room. An independent facilitator is guiding the commissioners in the session.

One surprise in this week’s meeting was the announcement Health & Human Services Director Nancy Dahlin is retiring.  She will remain through March, she said,  to make sure a transition to a new department head goes smoothly.  County Administrator Bruce Messelt said a job description and recruitment effort for interested applicants will be handled by an outside firm with direction from the County Board.  HHS and County Road and Bridge are the two largest departments.

Dahlin assured the commissioners the HHS department leadership team is prepared for this, stating,  “I am proud of the leadership  team, you are in good hands.”

In appointments:
Shellene Johnson was seated to an at large opening on the planning commission.    Jim McCarthy will continue to serve on the planning commission for District 2 and John Sutcliffe was reappointed to the second at large seat.

The HRA/EDA District 4 seat was filled by Chad Lindgren to succeed David Boniface who stepped down.

The county park board members requiring appointment are Jolene Wille and Frank Storm filling seats in districts 1 and 5 until 2022.
The Extension Committee had nobody applying for an empty three year term, to represent District 1.  (DuBose is the commissioner)
Jeske Noordergraaf was re-appointed for Dist. 2 and Charles Yeager for Dist. 4 and one at large seat went to Douglas Toavs.

Donna Nowicki was returned to her seat on the county Board of Adjustment for Dist. 2.  

The Board of Adjustment seat representing Dist. 4 is currently vacant.(Montzka is the commissioner.)

The action determining those committees that each commissioner will serve on in 2019 was tabled.  This will get attention at the regular County Board meeting January 16.

A bid award for providing food service at the new jail saw a typo in the low bid from Summit Food Service, resulting in the county being advised the company would not be able to submit an acceptable number by the deadline.  

The commissioners then awarded the bid to Consolidated Correctional Food Service, based in DesMoines, Iowa.  The bid was based on numbers of meals and ran from a low of $2.07 for up to 90 inmates and for the 30 to 59 inmate range,  it would be $2.62 per meal.

Advanced Search

WIld Mountain 12-8-13

CHISAGO LAKES LIVING | Home | Public Notices | Links | Subscribe
Powered by 72dpi

Chisago County Press
P.O. Box 748 Lindstrom, MN 55045

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved