Home | Contact Us | Subscribe | Follow us on Facebook!
Chisago County Press | Lindstrom, MN
• Home
• Our Location
• Our Staff
• Subscription Rates
• Our History

5 loaves
face it
Wagner Chiropractic
J Hempel

Lindgren Tax

home : news : news
September 26, 2022

8/12/2022 11:42:00 AM
MacMillan, Swenson, Dahlberg, Erickson advance

Voters in a huge portion of Chisago County were casting ballots Tuesday this week not only for the purpose of thinning the numbers applying for political parties’ tickets,  but also for determining who would be running for two county board districts.  

Chisago County District One is a new area established in the latest wave of redistricting and it covers residents of North Branch.  Three candidates filed and only two can run in November.  The two who got the most votes and will be on the November ballot for County Board were: Jim Swenson 383 votes and Tim MacMillan, 297. Richard Cedergren got 143.  Swenson, currently North Branch Mayor, won all three North Branch precincts, according to uncertified but 100 percent of votes tallied,  results of the Secretary of State.

Also in County Board District Five, represented for several terms by Mike Robinson who passed away while holding office, the top two vote-getters were: current Rush City Mayor Dan Dahlberg and Cindy Erickson. Dahlberg won all the District 5 precincts although an eight vote margin gave him Nessel Township, over the third contender John Sutcliffe.

Three County Board seats are being sought by incumbents and two of these, Commissioner Ben Montzka and Commissioner Marlys Dunne, have no challengers.  

The re-drawing of boundaries left Commissioner Chris DuBose’s residence (in Center City) in Chairman Rick Greene’s incumbent county commissioner area;  so these two will run against each other for the new District Two.

This week’s Primary balloting also covered party races for a number of offices in the state and in the federal government.  These county results were: supporting Pete Stauber to run for CD 8 and county voters agreed with the with the voters of the congressional district giving DFL challenger Jen Schultz the primary edge over John Munter, 1,605 to 277.

The timeframe for filing to be a candidate for local mayor, school board and council races continues until August 16.  

Lent Township and Nessel Township also hold elections during the November General Election and are accepting applications for township posts until Aug. 16.  

Contact your local government offices for filing details.

Advanced Search

Home | Contact Us | Subscribe | CHISAGO LAKES LIVING
Chisago County Press
P.O. Box 748 Lindstrom, MN 55045

Software © 1998-2022 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved