Home | Contact Us | Subscribe | Follow us on Facebook!
Chisago County Press | Lindstrom, MN
• Home
• Our Location
• Our Staff
• Subscription Rates
• Our History

home : 2022 election coverage : 2022 election coverage
September 26, 2022

8/26/2022 1:45:00 PM
Local filings feature some fresh faces

Editor’s Note:  This is a corrected version of the text published last week, we fixed a typo and corrected that Matt Laqua filed for mayor in Stacy not city council.

There will be a few new faces in the November campaigns for local offices.  

Filings for municipal and two township offices,  that have ballots in November ended Tuesday night this week.  The deadline to withdraw from the ballot is today (Aug 18) so it’s possible some of these candidates could drop off the races.  Next week look for more details and school board filings.  “Filing statements” for this round of applications are now being accepted for publication.

As of early this week it was:
North Branch— filing for Mayor are Lorraine Moeller, Kevin Schieber, Mark Schloer and Kelly Neider. The seat is open due to Jim Swenson opting to run for County Board.   Council candidates are Peter Schaps, Evelyn Broome, Travis Miles and with no challenger for the special election, (filling Amanda Darwin’s vacated seat term) appointee Robert Canada filed.

In Center City, incumbent Mayor Jill Behnke filed and Council member Lloyd Vetter is seeking re-election.  Garrett Boulineau also filed.

In Chisago City Mayor Bob Gustafson seeks re-election and is challenged by Travis Petsch.  Council candidates are Craig Meyer, Toby Peterfeso and Nikki Battles.

Lent Township Supervisors Brian Seekon and Jess Eischens and Troy Nelson filed for re-election along with candidate Jeffrey Barrett.

In Lindstrom Mayor Kevin Stenson is unchallenged. Council candidates are Katie Werman Roche, Bill Schlumbohm, Judy Chartrand and Brian Norelius.

Nessel Township is the other township with fall elections and Branden Mell and Stan Iskierka filed.

Rush City’s mayor is seeking a county commissioner seat and the only candidate for mayor is Alan Johnson.  Dan Meyer and Frank Storm filed for council.

Stacy Mayor Mark Utecht filed for re-election. Matthew Laqua also filed for mayor as the lone challenger.

In Shafer Paula Hanson filed for mayor.  Patty Mattson and Nick Brehm filed for re-election to council.

Taylors Falls’ incumbent Mayor is retiring and only Brandon Weiberg filed for mayor.  For council it is Molly Irish, Tim Grote, Randy Krey and Lee Samuelson.

In Wyoming the mayor term runs to 2024.  Incumbents Claire Luger and Dennis Schilling filed to be re-elected to council

Advanced Search

Home | Contact Us | Subscribe | CHISAGO LAKES LIVING
Chisago County Press
P.O. Box 748 Lindstrom, MN 55045

Software © 1998-2022 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved